Tonight, as I was sitting on the couch scrolling through my high school pictures, I realized something. I am graduating in two weeks, and as I looked closer at the photos on my phone, I realized that I have grown apart from the people in these photos. My eyes glazed over with tears. Up until the beginning of this year, my eighth grade best friend and I were still extremely close. But as our senior year is coming to an end, I realize our friendship is almost invisible. Although I have tried multiple times throughout this year to hangout with her to reconnect, she has been too busy with her boyfriend and her internship to keep our friendship alive. And that’s OK.

We are graduating. We won’t have time to hangout anymore. We will make new friends and create new relationships. With us growing apart now, it will be less painful when we go off to college at the end of the summer. In the mean time, this still hurts. Keep in mind, I had this realization about a hour ago.

I knew that many friendships never last once graduation from highschool, but I just didn’t want to experience this for myself.

We’ve always been on different paths, but that’s what kept our friendship interesting and alive. Maybe that’s also what drifted us apart.

We used to never go a day without speaking. Now it’s hard to get a text back.

One thing I know is that people change. Sometimes when people grow, they also grow apart.

A quote that I’m absolutely in love with is this:

It happens to everyone as they grow up. You find out who you are and what you want, and then you realize that the people you’ve known forever do not see the way you do. So you keep the wonderful memories, but find yourself moving on

So that’s what I’m doing. I’m moving on. Although there are tears streaming down my face, and sadness in my heart, everything is going to be okay. There are millions of people I have yet to meet, millions of places I have yet to explore, and a million reasons I should be happy and hopeful that many great things are coming my way.

 

